A Bumper Social Enterprise Christmas!

Great progress with my Social Enterprise Christmas Shopping in the last few days!  Too many fantastic gifts for me to write about individually, so here are some highlights.

In a recycled delivery box from the Eden Project’s online shop (http://www.edenproject.com/shop/default.aspx): champagne, scented candles, games for my nieces and nephews and a cute elephant jigsaw for my baby son.    The Eden Project works around the world to bring about environmental, social and economic regeneration.  In the UK its beautiful gardens inspire people of all ages and all walks of life to learn about nature and get involved.

Eden Project Elephant JigsawDartington, a historical hall in Devon, is a place of learning about some of the significant issues of our time.   Each year over 500 change makers, including social entrepreneurs, participate in the learning programme, enabling them to develop ways of creating a more sustainable world.   From Dartington’s online shop (http://www.dartington.org/online-shop/shop) I bought Cowshed products and various sweet and savory treats.

On Saturday morning my family and I visited Borough Market in London.   We soon spotted Rubies in the Rubble, the brilliant award-winning social enterprise that uses ingredients that would otherwise be discarded and employs Londoners struggling to find work to create its delicious chutney products.  Served by an infectiously cheerful man with a huge smile, we bought chutney gift bags; in which we selected 3 chutneys such as Nutty Plum and Red Onion & Chili.   You can find Rubies in the Rubble chutneys in many locations: http://www.rubiesintherubble.com/where-to-find-us/

So, I’m nearly finished!  I’ve managed to #BuySocial for nearly all my presents!  But there is still one thing I need… picture frames for photos…. If anyone knows where I can buy them – from a social enterprise – please do contact me at @frombabies on twitter. Perhaps it’s not possible at the moment… in which case… social entrepreneurs… there’s a gilt-edged (or perhaps silver framed!) gap in the market!

Leave a Reply

