Why I set up from babies with love

When I had my son, watching children’s charities’ adverts and reading articles about the hardship children face all around the world took on new depth of meaning.  The tears in my eyes and the lump in my throat made me feel more determined than ever to do something.

I thought to myself: if I could buy a beautiful baby grow, at great value, on an attractive website, and know the profit helps a baby in need, why would I buy anywhere else?    The answer is I wouldn’t!

I asked the question, why aren’t children’s charities selling baby clothes and using the profit to fund their work?   I couldn’t find a good answer, so I decided to do it myself! www.frombabieswithlove.org, the first online baby clothes retailer donating 100% profit to orphaned and abandoned children. We sell beautiful, stylish, organic baby clothes, including brands such as Organics for Kids and Red Urchin.

We have begun by donating to the amazing charity SOS Children.  They build and run children’s villages around the world, where foster mums care for orphaned and abandoned children.

Our first baby is a 12-month old boy from Guinea in West Africa. Sadly, his father died, and his mother was not in a position to care for him.   But he now has a new, permanent home, where he should grow up safely, loved by his foster family and he will receive an education.  As part of the village communities, SOS Children provides nurseries, schools and healthcare.  We are also funding the build and running of nursery schools in the villages, our first is in Chipata Village in Zambia.

I believe we need to do more to address inequality in our society.  This has been instilled in me by my parents, my education and my work.  A baby should have a decent start in life no matter where they are born.   Where circumstances are difficult, we should have support systems in place to help.

I did a lot of probono charity work whilst training as an accountant; I found it so enjoyable that I decided to move to the charity sector.  Throughout my career I’ve been interested in corporate social responsibility and social enterprise; having my son inspired me to set up from babies with love. I feel driven to help create change and I believe that, starting small, we can make a contribution to, not only helping specific children, but also shifting our expectations of the role of business in society.

As SOS Children Zambia Director, Florence Phiri, says, “buy baby clothes at from babies with love because you will have double satisfaction! You buy a great quality, organic product, and at the same time you help a child somewhere else – double satisfaction and double benefit!”

Leave a Reply

